About Us

From Jan 2020, the EU has commissioned a 3 year project called the India-EU Urban partnership, whose overall objective is not only to strengthen EU Urban diplomacy but also to demonstrate global leadership in implementing the New Urban Agenda and the Paris agreement.

IEUP: A Holistic Approach

The IEUP project links experiences and best practices from past and current urban projects between the EU and India such as the EU-Mumbai Partnership, the International Urban Cooperation action, the ICT standardisation action, the Air quality Initiative and others, and to feed their results into the national policy agenda. It will also allow engaging on new sub sectors such as metropolitan planning, mobility and waste management and bears a holistic approach.

The project activities will be implemented in Indian states and cities in partnership with key stakeholders, some of these are:

Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA), India

The MoHUA, is the federal ministry with executive authority over the formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws relating to the housing and urban development in India. Amongst others, it oversees some of the flagship programmes in India such as AMRUT, the 100 smart cities mission and the Swachh Bhaarat.

National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA)

The NIUA is India’s leading national think tank on urban planning and development. As a hub for the generation and dissemination of cutting-edge research in the urban sector, NIUA seeks to provide innovative solutions to address the challenges of a fast urbanising India, and pave the way for more inclusive and sustainable cities of the future. Whilst helping bolster India’s urban narrative at the global level, NIUA is also committed to aligning its efforts in accords with the UN Sustainable Development Goals, ensuring that global targets are achieved through locally adapted and integrated urban frameworks.

National Capital Regional Planning Board (NCRPB)

The NCRPB is the planning authority for the National Capital Region, a central planning region centred upon the National Capital Territory in India. It encompasses the entire NCT of Delhi and several districts surrounding it from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. It has issued two regional plans, the "Regional Plan 2001, National Capital Region" approved in 1988 and the "Regional Plan 2021, National Capital Region" approved in 2005.

Delhi Development Authority (DDA)

The Delhi Development Authority (DDA) was created in 1957 under the provisions of the Delhi Development Act "to promote and secure the development of Delhi". The DDA is responsible for planning, development and construction of Housing Projects, Commercial Lands, Land Management as well as providing public facilities like roads, bridges, drains, Underground water reservoir, Community Centres, Sports Centres, Green Belts etc. within the area of National Capital Territory of New Delhi, India. The DDA is currently in the process of developing a Delhi Master Plan 2041.

Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA)

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) is responsible for the infrastructure development of the Mumbai Metropolitan Region, an area spread over 4,355 sq. km. Since its inception, MMRDA is engaged in long term planning, promotion of new growth centres, implementation of strategic projects and financing infrastructure development. It prepares plans, formulates policies and programs, implements projects and helps in directing investments in the Region. It conceives, promotes and monitors the key projects for developing new growth centres and brings about improvement in sectors like transport, housing, water supply and environment in the Region.